Sevilla – here I come

2 April 2013

Time is moving on again in its inexorable fashion. Yes, bought a new watch at Heathrow. Will take a while to love it as much but, loyalty can be fickle and my lovely old one betrayed me when I needed it most. So I left it in the BA Business club. Left it with the wrappings for the new and went to the loo. It had gone by the time I got back. I wonder if whoever picked it up will love it as much or did a cleaner throw it in a bin?

Airports are interesting. What do they say of the people who live in their country? Heathrow is very mixed. Seems very inefficient and quaint. And grotty. Madrid is very different but, admittedly, pretty new. Huge. Up and down escalators and a train trip later to get to luggage collection. Beautiful new escalators and halls but, I’ve done 5 to 10 km walking terminals today. Shouldn’t have given my fitness a second thought with all the compulsory opportunities I’ve had. The terminal feels spacious based on the parts I’ve walked through and from where I’m now sitting. Wide, open, airy and I’m wondering about the difference. And, wonder of wonders, I saw a dog on a lead downstairs. No, not a dog that works here but a pet. No, it’s not Australia! That’s for sure.

Still cocooned by the building and so missed the zero C air in London and hope it is well over 10C here. Was hoping for 20 but know its unlikely. Anyhow, free wifi will stop soon.

Next stop is Sevilla.

Leave a comment